Hootsuite Mentor for DTES youth

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” – Mother Teresa

An amazing city, an amazing day.  We had about 30 kids and a day to teach them to code their own blog / home page using HTML and CSS.  The kids were about 7-12 years old – and even though the kids didn’t look at-risk at the end of the day we are ALL at-risk without the necessary tools to survive.  So schools aren’t teaching HTML (that’s a new language that everyone is using now and most kids aren’t learning.)

We had a great speech by a 15 year old!!! that invented – I say invented undrtheradr for kids under the age of 17 to hear their cell phones ring, but the teacher can’t because he is over the age!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? jeez…..wow……

This is very moving because I met a REAL at-risk youth there and noticed he had a bit of Dislexia and the mentors were not really spending as much time helping him type and read what was to be typed.  I obviously went and spent my time transcribing the projector instructions for him to follow.  I was like “h-a-s-h-t-a-g” for him and he made it through the day.  He came up and gave me a hug which seemed a bit foreign for him but we made it though – we did it and I got a hug!!!!

Was a great day!

